The Six Nations, the annual championship of the top northern hemisphere rugby union sides, kicks off on February 1, 2014.

Wales hosts Italy at the Millennium Stadium and France welcomes England to the Stade de France on the opening day followed by Ireland playing Scotland at Aviva Stadium on Febraury 2 to round out the first round.  Check out the entire match schedule and the table for this year’s Six Nations.

This will be the 120th edition of the tournament that first appeared as the Home Nations (1883-1909 and 1932-1939), expanded to include national teams outside the home nations and called the Five Nations (1910-1931 and 1940-1999) before the current Six Nations format (2000-present).

The Six Nations includes the original 4 home nations, England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, in addition to France added to expand to the 5 Nations and then Italy to round out the 6 Nations.

Wales are the 2-time defending champions taking the title in 2012 and 2013.

Get in the Gear of the Six Nations at the WorldRugbyShop.com