Rugby players honored Kieran Read as the 1st winner of the International Rugby Players’ Association (IRPA) Player of the Year Award on Friday.  The New Zealand No. 8 was named the IRB as well as New Zealand Player of the Year earlier in the week.

From his comments, the award sounds as though it is the most meaningful to Read.

“It’s pretty humbling, to be honest,” Read said of his award. “There’s no greater honour than to be recognised by the people you play against.”

The players voted Israel Folau the Newcomer of the Year and the New Zealand All Blacks as the Team of the Year.

It is not too late for rugby fans to make their selections.  Rugby fans can make their voice heard by going to Ultimate Rugby to vote for the Fans’ Player of the Year.

Players’ World XV of the Year:

1: Alex Corbisiero (ENG) Loosehead Prop
2: Bismarck du Plessis (SA) Hooker
3: Adam Jones (WAL) Tighthead Prop
4: Eben Etzebeth (SA) Lock
5: Sam Whitelock; (NZ) Lock
6: Liam Messam (NZ) Flanker
7:  Sam Warburton (WAL) Flanker
8:  Kieran Read (NZ) Eight
9: Aaron Smith (NZ) Scrumhalf
10: Aaron Cruden (NZ) Flyhalf
11: George North (WAL) Wing
12: Wesley Fofana (FRA) Inside Center
13: Conrad Smith (NZ) Outside Center
14: Ben Smith (NZ) Wing
15: Leigh Halfpenny (WAL) Fullback